Champions League Winners by Year

By: Ian Rose | February 5th, 2011

Of course, we’re about to enter into the knockout rounds of the 19th UEFA Champions League (since being called that) and the 56th including the days of the European Cup. Of the sixteen remaining teams, only one can raise the trophy on May 28th in London. Here is the list of the very exclusive company that winning side will find themselves in:

This post is brought to you by Daredirect, your source for sports insurance for all levels and all sports.

Only 7 of this year’s final 16 have won the tournament before, with huge teams like Arsenal, Roma and Lyon still seeking their first European titles.

1956: Real Madrid
1957: Real Madrid
1958: Real Madrid
1959: Real Madrid
1960: Real Madrid
1961: Benfica
1962: Benfica
1963: AC Milan
1964: Internazionale
1965: Internazionale
1966: Real Madrid
1967: Celtic
1968: Manchester United
1969: AC Milan
1970: Feyenoord
1971: Ajax
1972: Ajax
1973: Ajax
1974: Bayern Munich
1975: Bayern Munich
1976: Bayern Munich
1977: Liverpool
1978: Liverpool
1979: Nottingham Forest
1980: Nottingham Forest
1981: Liverpool
1982: Aston Villa
1983: Hamburg
1984: Liverpool
1985: Juventus
1986: Steaua Bucharest
1987: Porto
1988: PSV
1989: AC Milan
1990: AC Milan
1991: Red Star Belgrade
1992: Barcelona
1993: Marseille
1994: AC Milan
1995: Ajax
1996: Juventus
1997: Borussia Dortmund
1998: Real Madrid
1999: Manchester United
2000: Real Madrid
2001: Bayern Munich
2002: Real Madrid
2003: AC Milan
2004: Porto
2005: Liverpool
2006: Barcelona
2007: AC Milan
2008: Manchester United
2009: Barcelona
2010: Internazionale

For all of your sports club insurance needs, check out Daredirect.

Category Category: Champions League


Follow Us


World Cup 2010 News

Search The Offside


Related Links


Send Your Tips!

Found a great story, photo or video that's perfect for The Offside?
Email cl[at]theoffside[dot]com

Write for The Offside